I Am Judging YOU Moms of Chick-fil-A

chick fil a

A blog has recently gone around Facebook about a mom saying she isn’t judging other mothers who are on their iPhone at the park and not taking care of their children. She says a lot of beautiful and flowery things about how she understands that those mothers are tired and this may be the only time of day that they have to themselves.

I get that, I do, but the time to be on your iPhone and have some privacy is in your own home with the bathroom door locked while you are pretending to poop like a normal person. So that lady on her blog may be nicer than me and she may not be judging you, but news flash, I AM judging you.

I had a couple of days off in the middle of the week the other day and decided to do something novel with my physician friend, Hipster Doctor and her baby girl Jabberwocky. My two girls and I joined HD and Jabberwocky for trolling Target followed by a play date lunch at Chick-fil-A.

Our local Chick-fil-A has an enclosed playground, and I must admit that they are fantastic at catering to the Ladies Who Lunch crowd. They took my order, and noticed my hands were full so they offered to bring my tray out to me while I got the girls settled in the playground area. What I didn’t realize is that the playground at Chick-fil-A is more like a Mixed Martial Arts Cage Match than a playground. It is a freaking free for all.

There was a veritable cavalcade of women who obviously do this daily either sitting isolated while playing on their iPhone, or with groups of friends happily gossiping, but they all had one universal thing in common. None of them seemed to give a crap what their precious angels were doing. I witnessed big kiddos shoving little kiddos to the ground without so much as a raised eyebrow. One portly little boy was going around spitting on the ground where the little kids were playing and I had to go talk to him myself about not spitting where other people have to play. He looked absolutely astounded and shocked that he had been corrected by an adult.

The good people of Chick-fil-A had graciously provided a dispenser of individually wrapped purel wipes to help sanitize the children after their play date in tuberculosis-laden sputumville. I witnessed two delightfully smocked children in expensive, lovely outfits repeatedly rip over half of these out of the dispenser and open them up to throw both the wrapper and the wipes on the floor. They finally stopped when I asked them to. I wish their mothers cared as much about the growth of their character as they do about how they look when they go out. My children left the house in Target hand-me-downs instead of fifty dollar boutique chic, however; if they behaved that way, it would be their A%$. When I pointed out what the girls were doing to their mothers, it was met with an overwhelming look of “whatever.”

I realize that being a mother is a hard job. I get that. I have the same job. My Pottery teacher has perhaps the sweetest, most polite three little girls I have ever known and in the words of The Hairy Potter and his wife, The Jillionaire, “Discipline has to be like gravity with kids. It is a force that is always on.”

I totally understand that you are trying to have a relaxing lunch with your friends…. Me too, and so is everyone else at Chick-fil-A midday with their little ones. In a few years when my daughters still listen to what I have to say and your little sociopath burns the house down you may wonder where you went wrong. (Okay, that last part may be a little extreme.) I allege that it went wrong with everyday opportunities like this when you failed to teach your children courtesy to the good folks of Chick-fil-A and to the other patrons. If you are unable to instill these values in your five year old, what is your sixteen year old going to look like? What kind of citizen are you rearing? So yes, I am judging you mothers of Chick-fil-A for all the good it will do in the face of your eye-rolling ambivalence.

39 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Victo Dolore
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 02:10:46

    Wow. Impressive rant! High five sent your way!!!

    Reply

  2. Sandy Hardin
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 12:18:38

    This needs to be a letter to the Jackson Sun editorial page! Teachers all over who read this are going to want to give you a hug, high five and hallelujah!!!

    Reply

  3. Sharon Wilcox
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 13:49:56

    I never do anything that is not controlled and watched during fall, spring and christmas breaks..I try to do when similar age children are there…Sky zone has toddler day and a drape to keep.older kids out just a thought for ya to do…But you can guarantee if a mother says my kids are doing something…it will be taken care of then..not ignored..I have found this at parks too they scare the little ones…..

    Reply

  4. Pebbles On The Road
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 15:45:27

    I’m right there with ya on this one. And I don’t think it’s so extreme to say the little sociopaths may burn the house down. And it’s not just at Chick-fil-A. Every where I go I see parents with there eyes glued to their cellphones and ignoring their kids. It’s become a sad epidemic.

    Reply

  5. Bettie Jordan
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 23:13:27

    Pr

    Reply

  6. Bettie Jordan
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 23:13:54

    Preach on sister!

    Reply

  7. Underdaddy
    Oct 18, 2014 @ 05:41:23

    Maybe next time just lob a pee diaper up into the crows nest of the play area. Mom’s wont notice and for some reason it makes kids uncomfortable. I have flare-up of potty mouth around those situations.

    Reply

  8. Moonstruck
    Oct 19, 2014 @ 04:19:39

    Oh I like your style of writing! Good read, thank you. Moondtruck

    Reply

  9. lbeth1950
    Oct 19, 2014 @ 07:47:37

    Sometimes parents even think their kids bad behavior is cute or special. Thanks for following nutsrok

    Reply

  10. A.PROMPTreply
    Oct 19, 2014 @ 11:51:38

    Wow. I came over to thank you for following my blog and find this! I’m right with you on this one for sure! Why do people have kids if they aren’t interested in molding them? Kids are not a fashion accessory.

    Reply

  11. grannyK
    Oct 19, 2014 @ 15:02:19

    I become a drill sgt when at playgrounds. I’m the one making sure the 1 yr olds are not totally run over by the 5 yr olds. I don’t care if the parents like it or not! Someone has to be the adult, after all. Love the post.

    Reply

  12. cordeliasmom2012
    Oct 19, 2014 @ 15:14:08

    “In a few years when my daughters still listen to what I have to say and your little sociopath burns the house down you may wonder where you went wrong.” Right on, Momma!

    My kids and their friends’ mothers all thought I was overly protective and a little too aware of what my kids were doing when we were out. My kids were the ones playing nicely, while the others were off doing whatever they wished, whenever they wished.

    But the proof is in the pudding as they say. My girls are all grown, in stable relationships, and have good jobs. All three live close to me, and we get along beautifully as adults. Their friends? – at least one wound up in a home for unwed mothers at 16, and most of the others moved as far away from home as they possibly could, as soon as they could. In hindsight, I think I did the better job.

    PS: Thanks for following me. This post definitely made me sign up with you!

    Reply

    • kelliewall
      Oct 19, 2014 @ 16:01:07

      Thanks so much, cordeliasmom! It makes me feel good that the discipline will pay off one day. My parents were hard on us as well. As a result of their spankatherapy we are both doctors now.

      Reply

      • cordeliasmom2012
        Oct 19, 2014 @ 16:09:59

        Well, perhaps, “spankatherapy” is a little harsh these days. I didn’t hold back from an occasional swat on the butt, but spanking? No, actually hurting my kids would have hurt me instead. On the other hand, you certainly turned out OK, both as an adult and as a mother (a very specialized category of “adult”).

  13. Mona Gustafson Affinito
    Oct 19, 2014 @ 21:04:22

    And we wonder why we have a bullying problem in school? Well said.

    p.s., I don’t think spanking is necessary when discipline (teaching) is the real intent

    Thanks for posting this. I’ll be following you, expecting more good stuff.

    Reply

  14. smbaird
    Oct 19, 2014 @ 23:05:13

    Excellent post.

    Reply

  15. Koty's Korner
    Oct 20, 2014 @ 05:08:55

    Today I watched a parent glued to his phone while his child wandered into the path of a service vehicle that was about to back up. He only looked up when I screamed to get the drivers attention. Last week a parent walking out of the post office glued to her phone did not notice her little boy running toward the street. Holding on to my own child I snatched her child by the back of his shirt just as he was about to fall off of the curb. The kicker…she was more annoyed then grateful that her son missed getting hit by a car flying through the parking lot. It doesn’t matter if you are at the playground, the beach, etc. Please put your phones down and pay attention to your children. Most of the children who misbehave do so because seeing their parents constantly glued to their telephones tells them that mom or dad does not care so why should they? Nice post! I totally agree.

    Reply

  16. Mark
    Oct 20, 2014 @ 14:32:23

    Aye! Thar be monsters out there! Better start digging a hole in the wall behind you and escape! haha

    Reply

  17. lovessiamese
    Oct 20, 2014 @ 17:39:15

    Right on! We are more focused as a nation on what’s going on in the rest of the world while our little ones are left to fend for themselves. And you are right. Most sociopaths grew up without hands-on parents. I’m a firm believer in taking the board of education to the seat of knowledge when required. These wimps who just want to talk to their children don’t know anything about kids. Prov. 22:15 says, “Foolishness is bound in the heart of a child, but the rod of correction shall drive it far from him.” Why do teens get drunk, drive while texting, engage in dangerous behavior? same reason toddlers do: they think they will live forever and nothing bad will happen to them. You can’t reason with foolishness. The brain doesn’t mature until at least age 24. Keep being vigilant. Kids need someone to care.

    Reply

  18. tonyasmithauthor
    Oct 20, 2014 @ 21:52:40

    Hi Kellie – thanks for following enjoyed reading your blog!

    Reply

  19. tonyasmithauthor
    Oct 21, 2014 @ 17:00:36

    You are right on the mark Kellie! Parents need to be parents all the time – not just some of the time. It’s a hard job and it sounds like some of them shouldn’t have signed up for gig to start with.

    Reply

  20. Underdaddy
    Oct 27, 2014 @ 01:49:48

    Reblogged this on Underdaddy and commented:
    Many of you know and follow my good friend familydoctormom. I have been meaning to share this one for a little while. I think she handled the kids with more poise than I would have but then again I have never been very comfortable with caged-in playgrounds.

    Reply

  21. NotAPunkRocker
    Oct 27, 2014 @ 02:20:16

    I used to read a book back in the olden days of the late 90s with my son at those places. Still managed to keep him in line when he would try to act up like a cranky toddler can sometimes.

    Reply

  22. Tracye
    Oct 27, 2014 @ 02:57:17

    I have noticed this exact same thing at the Chik fil A playground and won’t take my little boy anymore because I was worried to death the whole time that one of the kids would knock him down and no one would even bat an eye at the child that did it. It’s good to know I’m not the only mother that notices these things. It stresses me out to take my kid somewhere where the other parents aren’t paying one bit of attention to what their kid is doing. I need my own time as much as the next person but I haven’t quite figured out how to turn off being a parent like I notice others. Maybe that is why I’m really stressed, but maybe that is also why my kid is considerate and respectful to others and whatever business we are at.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Uturnlavern's Blog

Thoughts and opinions from UTurn LaVern

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

lindseydaffin

Live Free & Be True to Yourself

modern father online

one dad's thoughts on parenting in these crazy modern times...

barbellsandpacifiers

My personal journey to stay a happy, healthy, new mommy!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Not Just Sassy on the Inside

The Journey toward higher consciousness and finding the sassy girl

Perichoretic Theosis

"God became man so that we might become gods." --St. Athanasius

Eclectic odds n sods

Parenting, Pet Tales, Humour & Photography

notthrowingstones.today

(but maybe tomorrow)

My So-Called Life

Is this real life?

Drunk on Life

Every day is a reason to celebrate.

Mark Bialczak

What will I write about next?

The Perfect Dad

Every man dies. Not every man truly parents.

iwantedwings

A Geeky Feminist's Musings On Pop Culture

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

sillyliss.com

I meant it that way.

