College Prep

untitled

Just like any parent, I really want my girls to have the opportunity to go to college if that is what they desire. To be clear, I don’t believe college is for everyone and there are many paths that are valid such as trade school, apprenticeship, military service and many others that are good choices for different personality types. Contrary to popular belief, college is NOT for everyone. For some, college leaves them forty thousand in debt with a degree in a career that they will never get a job in and have no ability to unburden themselves from this crippling burden. Most of these unfortunate souls can be found clutching their liberal arts degrees while rocking back and forth in their parent’s basements. I don’t want my children to live in my basement forever. I know they are only two and eight-months old, but it is never too early to start considering their education.

The other day I get a phone call at work from my husband. Z has thrown up for the first time.   I shudder with the reflection of my own first vomit experience. It was chili. I was about Z’s age. I vividly recall spewing it onto the colorful carpet of my room. I remember a chili bean being stuck in my nostril for weeks.   I had immediate concern for the trauma that my two-year old had endured.

According to my hubby, he found her in bed with vomit in her hair and had to clean the sheets, the million stuffed animals, and the two-year old (who hates having her hair washed). I felt really bad for him because he is a sympathetic puker.   Hubby showed tremendous fortitude in his biohazard clean up duty.

It disturbed me all day. I was concerned about my baby girl sleeping in that soiled mess for hours.   I felt various emotions. I was sad, empathetic, and a little guilty when I reflected upon all the candy-corn I let her eat the night before (which was probably the cause of the incident in the first place).

When I arrived home I gave Z a big hug and asked her about the incident, “What happened last night Z?”

“I made my bed all sticky and icky and I made a weird noise.”

“A weird noise?” I asked with curiosity.

“Hoooooooouuuuuahhhh,” she responded.

I am familiar with this noise both personally and professionally, “So why didn’t you call for Mommy and Daddy?”

She considered for a moment and with a shrug said, “I just put my pillow and some animals over it and went to sleep on the other end of my crib.”

It was this instant that I realized that all my efforts were successful and this child of mine is far more prepared for college than I had previously suspected.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. georgetteann
    Oct 25, 2014 @ 17:31:10

    Love this post! 🙂

    Reply

  2. willowdot21
    Oct 25, 2014 @ 22:21:08

    Well she has survived , so has your husband and college, well sounds like you have a few years grace!

    Reply

  3. glenn2point0
    Oct 25, 2014 @ 23:54:12

    Absolutely true that College is not the be all, end all. Mental Illness causes my once promising career to slide backwards into unemployment. So now it’s trying to build a new career, one step at a time. But this time with a goal, something I never had in the past. Society could not functions without all the levels of it that keep it moving, clean and safe.
    I must say this is the first “first vomit” story I have ever read.

    Reply

    • kelliewall
      Oct 27, 2014 @ 02:08:41

      You know, glenn, I think it is becoming the norm that we may go through more than one career these days. The best of luck in pursuit of your new life, and I simply cant believe this is your first “first vomit” story

      Reply

  4. lbeth1950
    Oct 26, 2014 @ 01:27:41

    I so agree that college is not for everyone.

    Reply

    • kelliewall
      Oct 27, 2014 @ 02:07:21

      it is a great LIE that is perpetrated against our youth

      Reply

      • lbeth1950
        Oct 27, 2014 @ 02:12:25

        I have a nephew who is dyslexic who is in welder’s training now. He has a promise of a job paying $32 hourly when he certifies upon graduation in two months. His sister who is graduating in nursing won’t make that. If he hadn’t been steered into technical training he might have dropped out of high school. He has already worked for this company two summers and holidays.

      • kelliewall
        Oct 27, 2014 @ 02:22:17

        I encourage people to pursue the trades all the time

      • lbeth1950
        Oct 27, 2014 @ 02:26:50

        Lord knows we need plumbers, hairdressers, HVAC, electricians, chefs………

  5. Underdaddy
    Oct 26, 2014 @ 03:50:39

    The ability to ignore your body and living conditions is possibly the most important skill in college. I’m impressed.

    Reply

  6. john flanagan
    Oct 26, 2014 @ 08:32:50

    This is so enjoyable to read..a lot of wisdom and understanding here

    Reply

  7. A.PROMPTreply
    Oct 27, 2014 @ 23:52:56

    I love this. She really is ready!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Uturnlavern's Blog

Thoughts and opinions from UTurn LaVern

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

lindseydaffin

Live Free & Be True to Yourself

modern father online

one dad's thoughts on parenting in these crazy modern times...

barbellsandpacifiers

My personal journey to stay a happy, healthy, new mommy!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Not Just Sassy on the Inside

The Journey toward higher consciousness and finding the sassy girl

Perichoretic Theosis

"God became man so that we might become gods." --St. Athanasius

Eclectic odds n sods

Parenting, Pet Tales, Humour & Photography

notthrowingstones.today

(but maybe tomorrow)

My So-Called Life

Is this real life?

Drunk on Life

Every day is a reason to celebrate.

Mark Bialczak

What will I write about next?

The Perfect Dad

Every man dies. Not every man truly parents.

iwantedwings

A Geeky Feminist's Musings On Pop Culture

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

sillyliss.com

I meant it that way.

