Make IT Stop!

I must speak to and deride a most disturbing trend in Southern fashion.  I am quite sure that much like smocking and pin-tucking that this is a trend only seen in the Deep South and not in the rest of the country.  Don’t get me wrong, I love being from the South, but sometimes, things go too far.  For me, the horror began about a year and a half ago at a consignment sale:

10154558_10152289696850956_851042493_n

I know, I know, it is really confusing.  Let me explain to you what you are seeing in this photo.  It is a GROWN woman wearing pants with ruffles around the bottom, like a clown.   It takes me back to that horrible period in sixth grade when clown style jumpers were all the rage (this was an actual thing and it was horrifying).   This was a bad idea then and it is a bad idea now.   I immediately knew who was responsible:

imagesCAUQ4JC4

Matilda Jane makes a line of clothes for CHILDREN that are considered quite “charming” in some circles.  It is mismatched patterns of gingham and stripes and ruffles that looks like Dr. Seuss and Little House on the Prairie vomited out a confused sad clown.    I will admit, they mostly look cute on children, but the trend has expanded to adults.  I know, it is true.

I was at church group earlier this week and someone was wearing them.   I admit, she is about the size of a fourth grader, and could maybe pull off this look, but it is now everywhere I go, mocking me.   One of my friends sent me a “selfie” of her new “Christmas Pants” just to taunt me.

IMG_20141228_103949

I mean, she seems happy, but do you SEE how these pants make her look like The Joker?

Clown pants ARE NOT a good look ladies.  Please MAKE IT STOP.   I cant take it anymore.   Everyone should take fashion cues from me and wear ten year old jeans and graphic tees and all would be right with the world.

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Victo Dolore
    Dec 28, 2014 @ 16:56:25

    Amen!!!

    Reply

  2. cordeliasmom2012
    Dec 28, 2014 @ 17:00:44

    oooooo, a trend I could start here up north. I always wanted to be a fashionista!

    (Actually, those are probably better than the pajama pants many women up here wear when they do errands.)

    Reply

    • kelliewall
      Dec 28, 2014 @ 17:18:34

      Cordeliasmom, believe me, we have our share of people shopping in “yoga pants” that have never seen a yoga mat

      Reply

      • cordeliasmom2012
        Dec 28, 2014 @ 17:27:43

        What I’m referring to aren’t even yoga pants – they’re actually PJ bottoms with bunnies, kitties, etc. on them. And not seen only on Walmart shoppers – they’re everywhere, summer and winter. When my kids were growing up, their high school even had a PJ day – it freaked me out that my teenage daughter was walking to school in PJs (didn’t the school realize there are perverts out there?), but I chose my battles and that wasn’t one at the top of my list. And anyway, that kid had a mouth on her that could turn any would-be attacker into mush.

      • kelliewall
        Dec 28, 2014 @ 18:00:19

        Yikes! That is bizarre.you should write a blog about it

      • cordeliasmom2012
        Dec 28, 2014 @ 18:08:40

        Hmmmm. Thanks for giving me a post idea!

      • kelliewall
        Dec 28, 2014 @ 18:17:11

        Look forward to reading it!

  3. JustJan
    Dec 28, 2014 @ 17:02:23

    Please make them stop!

    Reply

  4. Valleygrail
    Dec 28, 2014 @ 18:31:44

    We live about as far apart, diagonally, as possible in these Unites States. And I have to say I never have seen the likes of those pants in Oregon. I wonder if someone wears them because they think they’re feminine? Cute? I, for one, hope that style never passes over the Continental Divide.

    Reply

  5. allthoughtswork
    Dec 28, 2014 @ 18:49:01

    “…she seems happy, but do you SEE…”

    This is the key phrase in your entire post. You have the ability to recognize joy in another human being but you actively choose to shift your attention to something that brings you down–and you recruit others to join you!

    A person found happiness, bless them. You know, like that guy in the New Testament that so many southerners are name-dropping all the time. Do you honestly think He would even notice her clothing?

    Reply

  6. georgetteann
    Dec 28, 2014 @ 19:56:39

    These are hideous! I’ve not yet seen them in person, and I hope I never do! 🙂

    Reply

  7. tonyasmithauthor
    Dec 28, 2014 @ 22:42:28

    Great looking pants. That is if you are in the circus!

    Reply

  8. Pebbles On The Road
    Dec 29, 2014 @ 02:17:20

    “…mismatched patterns of gingham and stripes and ruffles that looks like Dr. Seuss and Little House on the Prairie vomited out a confused sad clown.” LOVE this description *so much*!

    I also live in the South but fortunately haven’t yet been forced to look upon this fashion abberation. It reminds me of those 1990s one-piece jumpsuits. WHAT were fashion designers thinking?!! What are they thinking now?!! These atrocities are bad enough on innocent little girls, but on grown up, adult women who should know better….

    Reply

  9. lbeth1950
    Dec 29, 2014 @ 18:08:26

    Maybe clown pants are best left to clowns.

    Reply

  10. willowdot21
    Jan 01, 2015 @ 13:32:09

    Yes stop it NOW!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Uturnlavern's Blog

Thoughts and opinions from UTurn LaVern

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

lindseydaffin

Live Free & Be True to Yourself

modern father online

one dad's thoughts on parenting in these crazy modern times...

barbellsandpacifiers

My personal journey to stay a happy, healthy, new mommy!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Not Just Sassy on the Inside

The Journey toward higher consciousness and finding the sassy girl

Perichoretic Theosis

"God became man so that we might become gods." --St. Athanasius

Eclectic odds n sods

Parenting, Pet Tales, Humour & Photography

notthrowingstones.today

(but maybe tomorrow)

My So-Called Life

Is this real life?

Drunk on Life

Every day is a reason to celebrate.

Mark Bialczak

What will I write about next?

The Perfect Dad

Every man dies. Not every man truly parents.

iwantedwings

A Geeky Feminist's Musings On Pop Culture

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

sillyliss.com

I meant it that way.

