So MUCH Shaking My Head

A terribly frail elderly couple came into my office today.  The gentleman is ninety two years old.  He has horn- rimmed glasses perched atop the fragile bridge of his nose.  He is hobbling in on his rolater.   (In case you don’t have the pleasure of knowing what a rolater is, it is one of those super snazzy walkers that have a seat and brakes that all the cool seniors are sporting these days.)  His was candy apple red, like a race car.

He uses every ounce of strength to sit down in the examination room, grimacing with pain.  After the pleasantries of greeting him, he says, “Doc, I got to have a cortisone shot for my joints.  I am just achy all over.”

“The cold weather must be really getting to your bones,” I nod sympathetically.

He grinned sheepishly at me, “Nah Doc, that’s not it.  I know what I done.”

I wait with baited breath.  Could it be the dreaded “fall in the bathroom” or “slipping on ice” that I frequently hear tell of.   I was totally unprepared for the next words out of his mouth.

“Well, I want to have a big garden this year, so I was out in the front yard with the chainsaw cutting down some trees to clear out a piece for it…” he starts

“Wait a second,” I interrupted, “Do you think at ninety-two you should be out there on your rolater using a chainsaw?  I have to question the safety of such a decision.”

He sighs, “Now Doc, I knew you were going to get on to me about that.  I was real safe.  I locked the rolater and sat on the seat.  I didn’t even climb up in the tree or nothing. “

“Well that IS a relief,” I replied, “I am glad that you didn’t climb into a tree with a chainsaw and your walker.”

So MUCH shaking my head.

*shared with permission

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Yvonne
    Feb 04, 2015 @ 01:49:15

    I hope I’m using a chainsaw from my rolator at 92!

    Reply

  2. Kim
    Feb 04, 2015 @ 01:49:27

    I can only imagine! We live around a retirement /golf community and it is every day that anything, something, is “not a good idea”. I am told on a regular basis that when one is that age, you do not “feel” your age. One knows their limitations ,but well ,one does not “feel” their age. Anyhoo, is what it is, and thank goodness all is well:) On a different note, your brother is a customer of mine and he told me about your blog. Your blog is lovely and fun! As I recuperate from a hysterectomy it is a great diversion! I like the way you write☺️;)

    Reply

  3. lbeth1950
    Feb 04, 2015 @ 02:40:45

    I like that guy.

    Reply

  4. Underdaddy
    Feb 04, 2015 @ 15:48:55

    That might be an awesome way to go. Being crushed by an Oak in your roller chair. That’s hardcore for ninety two.

    Reply

  5. willowdot21
    Feb 04, 2015 @ 16:38:20

    I have a mother in law of 94yrs who goes on at least three holidays a year one is always a cruise, she either goes on her own or with a friend who is slightly but not much younger than her! She goe out everyday and has a happy knack of getting people to do things for her by auto suggestion!
    I also have a cousin who at th age of 80yrs plus is still caught up ladders, on roofs and up trees…. I think they are feed these seniors ( OAPs to us brits) something we need!! Great story!

    Reply

  6. Pebbles On The Road
    Feb 06, 2015 @ 23:03:33

    Well, you know what they say. If you don’t use it, you lose it. Maybe these seniors have it figured out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Uturnlavern's Blog

Thoughts and opinions from UTurn LaVern

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

lindseydaffin

Live Free & Be True to Yourself

modern father online

one dad's thoughts on parenting in these crazy modern times...

barbellsandpacifiers

My personal journey to stay a happy, healthy, new mommy!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Not Just Sassy on the Inside

The Journey toward higher consciousness and finding the sassy girl

Perichoretic Theosis

"God became man so that we might become gods." --St. Athanasius

Eclectic odds n sods

Parenting, Pet Tales, Humour & Photography

notthrowingstones.today

(but maybe tomorrow)

My So-Called Life

Is this real life?

Drunk on Life

Every day is a reason to celebrate.

Mark Bialczak

What will I write about next?

The Perfect Dad

Every man dies. Not every man truly parents.

iwantedwings

A Geeky Feminist's Musings On Pop Culture

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

sillyliss.com

I meant it that way.

