How Do You NOT know how to Target?

As a working mother, there are a few small pleasures on my day off.  One of these is to don yoga pants and load the kiddos up for a midday trip to Target to commune with my stay at home sisters.  This is my new spa day, replacing what actually used to be a spa day.

I have a specific routine.   We stop by the snack bar for popcorn and a red slushy for the kiddos.  This keeps them placating while I luxuriate in my Target experience.   Then I stop by the dollar bins at the front of the store to see if I can find an awesome Hello Kitty themed bag, or a Frozen puzzle, or how bout some novelty socks.  Awesome, right?  Then I take the cart around the entire perimeter of the store starting in housewares.   Anyone who knows anything about Target is aware that clearance items are placed on the outside perimeter.  Convenient, right?  Then, I venture forth to the wild interior to look for deals on apparel and diapers.

I have a system.  But, the other day I ended up at Target with my husband.  I expressed a desire to look for socks, but he apparently took this way too literally.  He was surprised and astounded when I began my routine.  He kept saying things like, “aren’t we here for socks?” and, “I thought you were looking for socks.”

wpid-img_20150325_112211_985.jpg

Half a cart full later, it suddenly occurred to me that my dear husband has now idea how to Target.   I just found myself shaking my head in disbelief.   How can one reach the ripe age of thirty-seven and not understand how Target works?

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ksbeth
    Mar 27, 2015 @ 02:05:23

    it is one of my fav activities too and it does take a certain skill set )

    Reply

  2. Underdaddy
    Mar 27, 2015 @ 02:23:30

    We almost have to sign a contract before I go shopping with Supermom. We are getting “this and this” and we will browse “these and those”. Signed in blood.

    Reply

  3. Deborah the Closet Monster
    Mar 27, 2015 @ 02:25:07

    On the other hand … Target trips are WAY cheaper for people like your husband!

    Reply

  4. threekidsandi
    Mar 27, 2015 @ 02:39:32

    I know, right? I go into stores to look for clothes and if I am with someone they will stop at a rack by the aisle and ask me questions like ¨How about this?¨ Silly. Everyone knows you skip the entire store and just hit the back racks of each section, because if the racks with new clothes have anything you like, it is either too expensive or not your size! Not to mention that the back racks are sorted by size… far more practical than by style.

    Reply

  5. Bare Naked in Public
    Mar 27, 2015 @ 06:14:39

    It’s a good thing he has you to teach him 🙂

    Reply

  6. cordeliasmom2012
    Mar 27, 2015 @ 13:38:30

    I refuse to shop with my husband. His method is to make a beeline to whatever aisle has the single item he’s looking for, grab that item, and make a beeline back to the register. His goal is to be in and out of the store within 5 minutes, tops.

    Not that I’m a huge shopper myself, but I do like to check for stuff that might be on sale.

    Reply

  7. willowdot21
    Mar 27, 2015 @ 17:28:01

    easily! 🙂

    Reply

  8. tonyasmithauthor
    Mar 30, 2015 @ 16:27:59

    I think it’s a women thing. I am with your husband on that one. .. lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Uturnlavern's Blog

Thoughts and opinions from UTurn LaVern

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

lindseydaffin

Live Free & Be True to Yourself

modern father online

one dad's thoughts on parenting in these crazy modern times...

barbellsandpacifiers

My personal journey to stay a happy, healthy, new mommy!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Not Just Sassy on the Inside

The Journey toward higher consciousness and finding the sassy girl

Perichoretic Theosis

"God became man so that we might become gods." --St. Athanasius

Eclectic odds n sods

Parenting, Pet Tales, Humour & Photography

notthrowingstones.today

(but maybe tomorrow)

My So-Called Life

Is this real life?

Drunk on Life

Every day is a reason to celebrate.

Mark Bialczak

What will I write about next?

The Perfect Dad

Every man dies. Not every man truly parents.

iwantedwings

A Geeky Feminist's Musings On Pop Culture

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

sillyliss.com

I meant it that way.

