And The Winner Is….

It is official. I am nominating the Sears/K-mart conglomerate for worst customer service ever.  I know it was a close toss-up between them and Verizon.   The Popeye’s Chicken on Vann Drive received an honorable mention.

Envision this….

I ordered four decorative throw pillows for my couch about three weeks ago. I can’t go into the gory details, but I really NEEDED those pillows by tomorrow. I realized about mid last week that they were still not here.   So, I started doing some investigative work and found out that they cancelled my order, AND didn’t notify me, AND charged my account anyway.

It took approximately an hour and several frustrating conversations with people named Jerry and Bill who inexplicably had Pakistani accents to even convey to them what the problem was.   Finally, Jerry condescended to allow me to purchase a similar pillow. He also considered it fair to require me to pay the thirty-five dollars in highway robbery that they call expedited shipping.

This led to me speaking to Jerry’s manager, Glenn. After a rather frustrating fifteen minutes during which Glenn forgot how to use her phone (I am not joking), Glenn finally agreed to waive the shipping charge retroactively. This wasted hour of my life and frustrating experience exemplifies the competence of the entire Sears/K-mart corporate. I can certainly understand why Martha Stewart hitched her wagon to this star.

Fast forward to this very afternoon if you will. Remember, for reasons that will not be explained, I NEED these four pillows by tomorrow.   They sent me ONE pillow.   ONE.   It was this encounter that pushed our winners past such fiercely incompetent competitors as Best Buy’s Geek Squad, and the Airlines. Thanks Sears/Kmart! Keep up your commitment to the fine customer service that we have come to know and love and you will start circling that drain at an even swifter speed.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lbeth1950
    Mar 31, 2015 @ 12:16:39

    Haven’t been to Sears in years

    Reply

  2. tonyasmithauthor
    Mar 31, 2015 @ 17:04:19

    Might have been better to get something directly from Amazon online. They have great customer service.

    Reply

  3. willowdot21
    Apr 01, 2015 @ 17:28:45

    I hate out sourcing,I hate having a conversation with someone who does not speak the same language as me and who is pretending the can! I hate bad customer service and I am always amazed at the incompedence most firm display. I worked up close and and personal with the public for years and I always did my best and never lost my patience or forgot how to us my phone. I am so sorry for your problems .

    Reply

  4. Cynthia Reyes
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 17:39:01

    Yikes. I’m sorry to hear this happened to you. Happens to the best of us, and makes you want to scream.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Uturnlavern's Blog

Thoughts and opinions from UTurn LaVern

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

lindseydaffin

Live Free & Be True to Yourself

modern father online

one dad's thoughts on parenting in these crazy modern times...

barbellsandpacifiers

My personal journey to stay a happy, healthy, new mommy!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Not Just Sassy on the Inside

The Journey toward higher consciousness and finding the sassy girl

Perichoretic Theosis

"God became man so that we might become gods." --St. Athanasius

Eclectic odds n sods

Parenting, Pet Tales, Humour & Photography

notthrowingstones.today

(but maybe tomorrow)

My So-Called Life

Is this real life?

Drunk on Life

Every day is a reason to celebrate.

Mark Bialczak

What will I write about next?

The Perfect Dad

Every man dies. Not every man truly parents.

iwantedwings

A Geeky Feminist's Musings On Pop Culture

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

sillyliss.com

I meant it that way.

