Why Long John Silvers Will Kill You

It should be noted that this is shared with permission*

 

I saw an elderly gentleman for a recheck the other day.   He had a blood pressure of 190/110.  He denied any chest pain or shortness of breath and insisted that he felt fine.   I insisted that he get an EKG with his blood work.

About five minutes after he left I received his EKG in my inbox and gasped deeply when it became apparent that he was “tombstoning”.  As one might imagine, tombstoning is not a good sign.  It is a finding on an EKG that looks like a tiny little tombstone in multiple leads and leads to the patient acquiring a real tombstone of their very own.

I proceeded to call the patient in a panic, informing him that he needed to go immediately to the emergency room.

After a moment of hostile silence, he replied, “I am in the drive thru at Long John Silvers, and I am going to get my *&^%#@ fish!”

I calmly explained to him that if he stays to eat the fish, it will likely be his last meal.

He reluctantly agreed to go to the emergency room.

When I saw him back after his hospitalization and heart catheterization I joked with him about it, “Are you going to Long John Silvers today?”

He replied with a twinkle, “I went before I came this time.”

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. insanitybytes22
    Dec 13, 2015 @ 02:19:08

    Ha! You got to watch those older folks, they’re incredibly stubborn and tough.

    Reply

  2. kelliewall
    Dec 13, 2015 @ 02:35:16

    And really enjoy fried fish…

    Reply

  3. threekidsandi
    Dec 13, 2015 @ 03:19:15

    I love the food from there, but I swear it makes me feel like I am going to die…

    Reply

  4. lbeth1950
    Dec 14, 2015 @ 02:22:09

    Must be some good stuff!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Uturnlavern's Blog

Thoughts and opinions from UTurn LaVern

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

lindseydaffin

Live Free & Be True to Yourself

modern father online

one dad's thoughts on parenting in these crazy modern times...

barbellsandpacifiers

My personal journey to stay a happy, healthy, new mommy!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Not Just Sassy on the Inside

The Journey toward higher consciousness and finding the sassy girl

Perichoretic Theosis

"God became man so that we might become gods." --St. Athanasius

Eclectic odds n sods

Parenting, Pet Tales, Humour & Photography

notthrowingstones.today

(but maybe tomorrow)

My So-Called Life

Is this real life?

Drunk on Life

Every day is a reason to celebrate.

Mark Bialczak

What will I write about next?

The Perfect Dad

Every man dies. Not every man truly parents.

iwantedwings

A Geeky Feminist's Musings On Pop Culture

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

sillyliss.com

I meant it that way.

